Sunday, February 20, 2011 - 10:30 am

Mindy is a 33-year-old black female who is friend and neighbor to Jill Ross. The interview was conducted at the Yoknapatawpha Sheriff's Department and was recorded on a portable tape recorder with the witness's knowledge and consent.

• Detective Ted Armstrong
  • Detective Samantha Murphy
  • Mindy Fisher

Detective Ted Armstrong Detective Samantha Murphy Mindy Fisher

Detective Armstrong: Thank you for coming down. Please state your name and address so we can get started.

Mindy Fisher: No problem, I'm Mindy Fisher; my address is 386 Elm, Oxford.

Detective Murphy: How long have you lived there?

Mindy Fisher: For about 9 years now. I love the neighborhood; we all look out for one another.

Detective Armstrong: Do you work, Mindy?

Mindy Fisher: Yes I do. I am a nurse practitioner. I work at the women's clinic here in town.

Detective Armstrong: Do you work weekends?

Mindy Fisher: Every other Saturday but we are closed on Sunday.

Detective Armstrong: Where were you January 30?

Mindy Fisher: That's Treenie's birthday; my niece. We had a surprise party for her at my house. I was home up until about 5.

Detective Murphy: Do you know Jillian Ross?

Mindy Fisher: Of course I do. She lives right next to me. I consider her a friend.

Detective Armstrong: A friend. So you two go out together?

Mindy Fisher: Oh no, we don't hang out or anything, but in the spring and summer we sometimes sit out in the yard together and talk.

Detective Murphy: Did you by any chance notice if Jill was at home on the 30th?

Mindy Fisher: I honestly don't remember ... but I can tell you that she isn't normally home on the weekends. If it weren't for the party, I'm sure I could tell you but I was pretty busy picking up after all the kids. Five year olds are quite messy!

Detective Armstrong: Did you ever see the DA Spenser Brooks visiting Jill?