Smiling woman wearing scrubs

Wednesday, January 27, 2021 – 10:30 a.m.

Mindy Fisher is a friend and neighbor of Jill Ross.

Detectives Magee and Murphy spoke to her at the Yoknapatawpha County Sheriff's Department.

Participants:

• Detective J. Magee
  • Detective S. Murphy
  • Mindy Fisher

Detective Magee: Thank you for coming down. Please state your name and address so we can get started.

Mindy Fisher: No problem, I'm Mindy Fisher. My address is 386 Elm, Oxford.

Detective Murphy: How long have you lived there?

Mindy Fisher: For about nine years now. I love the neighborhood. We all look out for one another.

Detective Magee: Do you work, Mindy?

Mindy Fisher: Yes, I do. I am a nurse practitioner. I work at the women's clinic here in town.

Detective Magee: Do you work weekends?

Mindy Fisher: Every other Saturday, but we're closed on Sunday.

Detective Magee: Where were you last Saturday, the 23rd?

Mindy Fisher: That's Treenie's birthday, my niece. We had a surprise party for her at my house. I was home up until about 5:00 p.m. Then I went out for drinks with some friends.

Detective Murphy: Do you know Jillian Ross?

Mindy Fisher: Of course I do. She lives right next to me. I consider her a friend.

Detective Magee: A friend. So did she go out for drinks with you on Saturday?

Mindy Fisher: Oh no, we don't hang out or anything, but in the spring and summer, we sometimes sit out in the yard together and talk.

Detective Murphy: Did you by any chance notice if Jill was at home on Saturday?

Mindy Fisher: I honestly don't remember … but I can tell you that she isn't usually home on the weekends. If it weren't for the party, I'm sure I could tell you, but I was pretty busy picking up after all the kids. You can't believe how much of a mess five-year-olds make!

Detective Magee: Did you ever see the DA, Spenser Brooks, visit Jill?

Mindy Fisher: No, but I did see Louis Watson show up over there one day.

Detective Murphy: Do you know Louis Watson?